Annual General Meeting of Matlock Area University of the Third Age Monday 20th March 2023 Imperial Rooms, Matlock

Minutes

Welcome from the Chair:

Liz Walker welcomed all members to the AGM.

Tributes:

Janet King paid tribute to Frank Hemming in recognition of his contribution in forming Matlock Area u3a and becoming its first Chair in 2007.

Gwynneth Beck paid tribute to Lynn Whitchurch for her commitment to, and enthusiasm for Matlock Area u3a and in particular, the Tap Dancing Group.

 Present: There were 42 members present. Lex Allison, John Anderson, Stephen Bailey, Gwynneth Beck, Jonathan Bolton, Rachel Bolton, Nicholas Bristow, Kathleen Buck, Marilyn Clark, Peter Clook, Jeanne Colledge, Martin Cruttenden, Angela Elkins, Katy Ellis, Martin Emery, Hilary Essen, Janet Green, Bea Jagger, Roger Keeling, Janet King, John Lamb, Arthur Lister, John Mann, Elizabeth Mann, Andrea Mernagh, Linda Odell, Anne Oldfield, Vivien Parker, Colin Plevey, Dave Puxley, Hazel Silcock, John Southwell, Maura Spencer, Julie Stanton, Carol Taylor, Elizabeth Walker, Penny Whitney, Anna Williams, Brian Williamson, Linda Wilson, Patrick Wright, Irene Yarnell The Chair had received 5 postal votes and 81 online votes, which together exceeded the

The Chair had received 5 postal votes and 81 online votes, which together exceeded the 15% of the membership necessary for a Quorum.

 Apologies: Tracy Sims, Diane Bell, Pearl Dunn, Adrian & Maureen Jarvis, Nick & Jo Sibley, Janice & Anthony Wells, Glyn & Janet Dornan, Helen Boocock, Janet & Colin Pidgeon, Aileen Taylor, Sarah Puxley, Pam Wildgoose, Diane & Mike Frosdick, Sue Smallwood, Keith Needham, Yvonne Plevey

3. Minutes of the AGM held on March 21st 2022 Amendments: Penny Whitney was present at the Meeting. There were no matters arising from the Minutes The Minutes were agreed as a true record by 25 members in the room, plus 86 other votes. Proposed by Arthur Lister Seconded by Elizabeth Mann

4. Approval of the Annual Report 2022-23 There were no matters arising. Approval was agreed by 26 members in the room, plus 86 other votes. Proposed by Angela Elkins Seconded by Hilary Essen

5. Approval of the Annual Accounts 2022-23

The Accounts have been examined and approved by Coates, an independent auditor. Brian Williamson, Hon. Treasurer, gave a brief summary of the Accounts. The finances are in good health, which has enabled the subscription fee to remain at £10. Gift Aid continues to add a substantial amount to the finances and all members are urged to tick this box on the membership form, if able to do so.

There were no matters arising.

Approval proposed by Bea Jagger

Seconded by Anne Oldfield

Approval was agreed by 36 members in the room, plus 86 other votes.

6. Election of Committee Members

The following nominated members were duly elected onto the Committee for the period 2023-2026, by 42 members in the room, plus 86 other votes Hon. Chair – Elizabeth Walker Hon. Business Secretary – Linda Wilson Hon. Vice-Chair – Gill Needham Merelyn Gamby – Ordinary member Cameron Butland – Ordinary member Proposed (en bloc) by Katie Ellis Seconded (en bloc) by Dave Puxley

The following Committee members to remain in post: Hon. Treasurer – Brian Williamson Hilary Essen Stephen Bailey Roger Keeling Elizabeth Mann

Tracy Sims has stepped down from the Committee and the Chair would like to thank her for all her work during her tenure.

7. Expressions of thanks:

The Chair, Liz Walker, thanked everyone who has managed to keep the group activities going throughout the last year. She also expressed her thanks to the Committee members; the webteam of Dave Puxley & Mike Frosdick; the Beacon Administrator, Diane Frosdick; and the Equipment Administrator, Keith Bailey.

8. Any Other Business:

There were no outstanding issues.

The meeting concluded at 2.45pm

Guest Speaker - Paula Cornwell "Mind your Motoring Manners"